Lazy…

I haven’t been stitching a lot recently as I have been somewhat rundown, and wanting to do quick projects. The last week I kind of felt like stitching but I had a cold/bug and my eyes have been very irritated (watering non-stop some days) which makes stitching difficult.

I am on antibiotics now, so everything seems to be settling back to normal (today is the first day my eyes haven’t felt like they were going to tear up or blur on me, so I might do some stitching later. That said, I am not sure which project is calling to me loudest.

So instead of stitching, I have been sewing. So far, I have (mostly) made 2 dresses. Mostly I say because one I apparently couldn’t follow instructions properly for (so I fudged it a little – wearable house dress), and the second needs hemming.

I think sewing, like stitching, takes some time to get your head around techniques as such. Also, it doesn’t help that I am not the same shape as standard patterns, so need to fiddle with a lot of them for fit.

Like stitching, sewing is going to take many years to perfect (not that my stitching is perfect, but it is at a stage I am happy with my stitching).

I am just trying to work out what project is calling the loudest. Do I want to finish the spot I am working on? Or is a heart calling to me in the form of a Cirque? Or should I start something new? Hmmmm… or should I try to finish that darned Mermaid of the Pearls (as gorgeous as she is, she is still my stitching nemesis at present)?

2 Comments

  1. rifestitch said,

    February 4, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    I am glad you are feeling better! I really would like to enjoy sewing, but I just can’t get there; my mother used to sew for hours and hours (it’s the only kind of needle “craft” she has ever done), and I think she usually enjoyed it. I just find it more of a chore. I can do decent work, though I purposely choose very simple projects, and I try not to overstep my skill level too far – but it’s just not my thing, I think, and probably never will be 😦 I’ll stick with my handwork, I guess 🙂

    I look forward to seeing what you do pick up 🙂 Maybe you need to have a stern talking to with the Mermaid, so she’ll let you finish her!

  2. February 4, 2015 at 7:31 pm

    The WIPocalypse question this month was “how do you deal with the rut” – so your post is right on topic! Hope you feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

