Distracted!!!

So Titania’s left wing is *almost* done – just the sparklies to go.

 

DSCF0371

 

But I have been incredibly distracted by…. SEWING!!!!

And sewing blogs. I adore wearing dresses, but a lot aren’t very flattering and those that are cost more than they should. So I have the idea that I want to learn to sew properly. I have sewn things before, and I own a sewing machine, so why not get more practice in?

DSCF0368

I am going to make a crazy cat lady dress with the black fabric at the front – it is difficult to tell but the front fabric is cat print with red hearts – cute plus (and it was on clearance so about $3/m). I am planning to make this  dress with it. Winter maxidresses are awesome.

The green fabric is a superfine cashmere marino wool, made in Italy. It is gorgeous!! I wanted to make one dress with it, and I started to make a muslin with the lining, but it doesn’t fit properly. I have to add an extra inch into the shoulder, but that changes the shape of the armhole, which means inserting the sleeves is going to be problematic.

I have been stalking sewing blogs and some of the Indie patterns around at the moment for knits are awesome – I want to make the Lady Skater Dress, the Moneta, and the Tiramisu . I really want to make a dress out of this fabric.

I am thinking that if I am going to start making knit dresses I need an overlocker. So I guess buying cross stitch stash may be put on hold.

 

I know I have drifted away from cross stitch in this post but you may get some sewing blogs along the way….

6 Comments

  1. rifestitch said,

    August 8, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Wonderful progress on Titania – she’s going to be so SPARKLY!!! Good luck with your sewing; I’d really like to be comfortable with my sewing machine, but we definitely have a hate-hate relationship. My mother sewed EVERYTHING, but would never teach me, so I rely on a 7th grade home ec class that was a loooonnnggg time ago. Making clothes is out of my league – I tried years ago when I was younger & dumber 🙂

    • aflyingneedle said,

      August 16, 2014 at 6:58 am

      Thanks. Titania is sparkly, but slow going. I realised that she has been a WiP for 4 years!!

      My mother sewed, and my grandmother was a dressmaker, so maybe it runs in the family?

  2. claire93 said,

    August 8, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    a little distraction is a good thing. Hope you have fun with your sewing projects

    • aflyingneedle said,

      August 16, 2014 at 7:00 am

      I will do, I think. Once I get my head around sewing again. Cross stitching will still be my relaxation though!

  3. Rosey175 said,

    August 8, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    I too want to learn to sew! Like there isn’t enough going on in life hahah. Your crazy cat lady dress sounds fun, and that pattern looked great!

    • aflyingneedle said,

      August 16, 2014 at 6:59 am

      Thanks. I like sewing. My big issues is learning how to fit clothes properly – without an assistant. I need to buy a mannequin 😦 This, of course, cuts into my cross stitch stash buying fund 😦


Leave a Reply

