Still here

I will post photos of fire goddess when I get her left hand shoulder done.

Anyway, Joan Elliott’s Blog is full of fun stuff – firstly she has a new book/magazine of designs out. It has a heap of her big designs and works out to be about $19Au, including post from the UK. It can be ordered here.

Secondly, she is having a contest for Christmas suggestions. Being born and bred Aussie, I don’t do much with normal Christmas designs as they don’t mean Christmas to me. Here it is the middle of summer – so snow, reindeer, and such is a foreign concept (I have had one cold Christmas ever in my life). My suggestion was Santa with his white boomers (male kangaroos) racing across the Aussie skyline – such as Uluru (Ayers Rock). It could be amusing and different at least. Very regional though! Not something that you would see or associate with Christmas in most parts of the world, but anyway.

I have also been looking everywhere for my pattern for Air Goddess. She is gorgeous and I was actually going to start stitching her before Fire Goddess, but I couldn’t find her… So, tonight I had a brain wave about where I could have put it. The cat is notoriously good at ripping up anything paper or paper like, so in a fit of brilliance I put it on a bookshelf under some things so he couldn’t destroy it… problem solved!!

4 Comments

  1. Karen R in GA said,

    May 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    I HAVE to get that book – just as soon as I have some $$$ That’s almost what I pay for 1 of the magazines here – so if it has all the seasonal fairies & goddesses in it – that’s a great deal!

    Can’t wait to see your updated picture 🙂

    • aflyingneedle said,

      May 2, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      Someone who has bought it wrote that it has:

      Has in it all 4 seasonal Fairies, Green Goddess (the new design), Three medieval ladies ( Stitching renaissance, castle princess and Renaissance rose), Golden Buddha, Thank heaven for little girls, (cards), Flamboyant and Free (A gorgeous art nouveau peacock), three eastern designs (Oriental lady, water wonderland (water lilies) and Eastern Promise (another geisha), 5 Christmas designs ( Jolly stocking, The lady in red, Christmas post, teddy bear Christmas and father Christmas), The three Christmas angels, Country escape (a cottage), The time of your Life (a wedding sampler), Unicorn and the maiden, and two elemental goddesses (fire and water).”

      I will put up a list when I get mine. Should ship within 24hrs. Get here in a week or two. Its pretty cheap for what it is…

  2. Joyce said,

    May 2, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Glad you found Winter Goddess… LOL! I LOVE your new skin. It’s my favorite color. 😀

  3. Karen said,

    May 3, 2011 at 6:34 am

    Why not submit a suggestion for an Aussie Christmas with a summer weather theme. If affects a lot of the Southern Hemisphere which is half this planet, so I think that would be a great idea! Glad you found your Air Goddess pattern. Great detective work!


Leave a Reply

