A walk back through time…

I went back to my family’s house for Christmas and my Mum
pulled out my finishes that have been kept from when I was first
starting, through high school and beyond. I, of course, had to take
photos of different pieces I have done. First piece ever –
Bluebells – this was stitched when I was about 10 or 11. I was self
taught and so not all the x’s went in the same direction… 1989 The centre marking was drawn on
in pencil. 1989 I *think* this was my second
piece: 1990s In about year 10 or so (14
years old) I started the whales. I didn’t know about finishing
then, so I am not sure how I am going to finish it as there is no
fabric to do anything with. I am thinking about stitching it to a
scroll somehow… 1996 And a few other bits and
pieces: 1990s 1990s 1990s I don’t have all my pieces I
have stitched photographed. I did a heap of Australiana ones in
1997 and they were all gifts. I have done a few for my sister and
her children too. Unfortunately though, someone has lost the
birthday sampler I did for my oldest nephew. He is very upset about
it 😦 snow leopard I have decided that I
am going to stitch him another piece from the same collection – the
Ocelot – seen here: Ocelot
While on holidays I did get a little stitching done: A bit of Fairy
Moon: fairy moon And Papillon Creations
MSAL: PC CITA MSAL

6 Comments

  1. Belinda said,

    January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Happy new year, it must be nice to look back at the pieces you did years ago.
    Your progress is looking lovely, especially fairy moon.

  2. Hev said,

    January 5, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I have that Ocelot one. I am just waiting until I get a free time to start it, lol. Love the memory lane. You were good from the beginning. My first one was horrible & I refuse to show it to anyone. I keep it just to show myself how far I have come.

    P.S. Remember I need your mailing address to send your Christmas present to you.

  3. Joyce said,

    January 5, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Those were some great finishes. 😀 It must have been so much fun walking down memory lane. I remember my first piece and the crosses didn’t go in the same direction either. LOL!

  4. Blu said,

    January 6, 2011 at 2:32 am

    I don’t the crosses went in the same direction for my first 10 projects! Your tour down memory lane is so much fun.

  5. Karen Lee said,

    January 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing your walk down memory lane, very fun and impressive! Yup my first and second project had stitches in both directions too. I too am self taught and a coworker who stitches told me they have to be in the same direction. I asked Always? but sometimes it’s easier to switch when changing rows. She set me straight haha.

  6. Barbara said,

    March 21, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Isn’t it great to see how far we have come in our needlework….as to the whale picture, how about sewing some nice upholstery fabric around the edges and make it into a pillow.


Leave a Reply

