Dyes and Water Goddess

I have two new colours that I think should be official colours – one I am calling “Bubblegum” as it reminds me of these multicoloured bubblegum ice-creams we got as kids, and the other Is Midsummer’s Night.

Bubblegum was an impulse colour and style of dyeing that I hadn’t tried before but I think is repeatable and lovely – I have completely changed my mind and I think I will use it for Titania.
experiments in dyeing

experiments in dyeing

Midsummer’s Night is inspired by late twilight on Midsummer’s eve where the colours blend from violet to blue to inky black. It is also inspired as a possible colour for Mirabilia’s Midsummer’s night fairy – so the partial floss toss is below. Now I know I have all the colours of kreiniks and dmc for midsummer, but apparently they aren’t in her kit for some reason…. Meh!
Same fabric, different lighting
experiments in dyeing

experiments in dyeing

midsummer floss toss

I think the photo with the floss toss is actually truest to life!

And finally, my Water Goddess update:
watergoddess

3 Comments

  1. Anka said,

    July 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Wow – the fabrics are absolutelly stunning. I would purchase both of them from you, if you start selling :o)
    As for Titania: with two fabrics like that, you are making it difficult to chose but I like the bottom one better too.

    Water Goddess is looking great. She is so pretty with the beads!

    I am dying to see your next pictures.

    • aflyingneedle said,

      July 8, 2010 at 1:41 pm

      Thank you!

      I am selling very casually at this stage…

      Eventually I think I will set things up a bit better, but I am slowly improving the Things for Sale page. But I am doing more custom colours than anything so far 😀

  2. Hev said,

    July 8, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I love them. Can’t wait until the next set. You are amazing.


Leave a Reply

