What not to do with dyes…

I decided that the fabric for PR’s “The Night” had dyed too pale so tonight I decided to fix it – and couldn’t get the lid off one of the dyes… when I did manage to the dye flew everywhere – my hands are dyed, it went into my hair and all over the floor… so I am now running low on one of my greens.

Anyway, as it is cold I am leaving it to cure overnight, and will add the fixative in the morning. If it doesn’t work out how I think it should I will just dye it all navy.

So I gave up on that and did another bit on Cirque des Carreaux:
cirque des carreaux

cirque des carreaux

And because I had said I have started it – the very beginnings of Chatelaine’s Egyptian Garden – on 32ct linen dyed by me
Egyptian garden

2 Comments

  1. Hev said,

    June 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Oh my, don’t they make something to remove dye? I know that Rit Dye over here in the US has something to remove dye from the mistakes. Do you have green hair, hands? Hope you can fix it.

    The photos look amazing. Your Egyptian is going to be wonderful.

    • aflyingneedle said,

      June 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Its a non permanent dye until you add the fixative so its all come out of my hair, but my hands are slightly green… sigh…

      I am pretty happy with my colours in Egyptian – it started off very pale – I think because it was cold- so I had to redye it darker. The temperature really does make a difference!

      Thanks 😀


Leave a Reply

