Another try at dyeing…

Spotlight appears to be getting rid of its Dylon coldwater dyes, which after a little research turn out to be mostly procion MX fibre reactive dyes, which is what a lot of the professional hand dyed fabric places report they use. So I bought a few colours to play with, so I had another try at dyeing fabric – linen this time – 32ct. So this is a combination of Turquoise Saga and Riverina blue. I used the instructions for low immersion dyeing from Paula Burch’s how to dye pages.

dyeing try 2

dyeing try 2

Next time I will try leaving it longer before adding the fixative to give the colours more of a chance to cover all the white. Its hard to tell but the greeny colour is quite turquoise.

So what do people think? And what colour combos should I get to try next? I have pale pink and peach to try as well. I have some linen to try that on.

1 Comment

  1. Anka Meyer said,

    March 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Wow – I really like these colors – great for any mermaid! Maybe some lighter aqua`s would be good…?
    Keep up the good work :o)
    Anka


Leave a Reply

