Grrr….

My order from HDF still hasn’t arrived. Its most distressing, especially considering my order from Silkweavers, that was posted 2 days later, arrived today. I guess the Snowpocalypse on the NE coast may have disrupted the mail… I bought a grab bag from silkweaver, which turned out to be more 28ct than anything, but hey, it gives me a selection of colours to play with, including 4 13×18 inch pieces to choose between for Nora Corbett’s Lily Pixie.

silkweaver grab bag

Mysteries:
silkweaver mysteries

And a fat quarter of Starquest 28ct on jaszlyn fabric:

jaszlyn 28ct starquest

jaszlyn starquest fat quarter

I actually like this dyelot better than the official piece I deliberately bought… shame its 28ct. So much prefer 32ct.

Maybe the HDF will arrive tomorrow.

I pulled Mermaid of the pearls off the stand tonight for two reasons:
1. I actually wanted to make some decent progress on her fin and 2 handed stitching at this stage is SLOW for me
and 2. my mad cat was using the stand for target practice. I caught him leaping up and clawing the fabric. BAD CAT!!!
So anyway, here she is:
mermaid of the pearls,mirabilia

Her fin in real life is actually quite pale. For some reason it photographs really brightly.

3 Comments

  1. Hev said,

    February 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Beautiful as always. Still jealous.

  2. cupcakesprinklz said,

    February 26, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Another mermaid! So looking forward to seeing more. You have inspired me to buy a grab bag from silkweavers too so I get a suprise. Do they generally have nice colours and counts? how much are they?

    • aflyingneedle said,

      February 26, 2010 at 10:08 am

      This is the first time I bought one, just to see… It was about $40 Australian with postage and all and had lots of nice colours – all 28ct and 32ct. I got 1 fat quarter, 5 fat eights, and 3 fat 16ths, which was a nice range. Its here.

      I am looking forward to getting the fabric I have ordered from everywhere… just while the exchange rate is good šŸ˜€ I really want to see what enchanting looks like in real life!


Leave a Reply

