This is only my opinion… and WiP pictures will follow… promise!

I like hand dyed fabrics. They add something to the cross stitch and are fun to work with, however a few of the companies that make them are either going out of business or changing things around which is annoying.

When I picked up my cross stitch again there was a company called “Sugar Maple Fabric” which did really gorgeous fabrics. Someone hacked her website and caused all sorts of dramas and so she shut down (and I still see her fabrics as people stitch on them and wish…).

Enchanted Fabrics is closing down. They are opening for two weeks to do last minute orders and then closing. Eventually she will reopen an online stitching store, which will have the occasional guest appearance of hand dyeds but it won’t be the same. I am going to do a last ditch order from her as she has some colours I haven’t seen in any other store.

Silkweaver is changing its structure which in theory is going to drop its prices slightly and do a few other things, but in the meanwhile will slow things down… that said, some people are worried that its going to permanently slow everything down.

Sassy’s Fabbys are pretty and tend to be more single toned, not 2-3 colours overdyed but is stillworth looking at.

Polstitches is in the UK and has some very pretty colours but the exchange rate is terrible.

Picture this Plus has very pretty fabrics but is slightly more expensive than Silkweaver, EF or Sassy’s.

Stitches and Spice has lovely fabrics.

Country Stitch is also nice.

Both Country Stitch and Stitches and Spice do seem to be caught though in that I think the importers may charge the earth for the base fabrics, so a fat quarter costs almost twice what is does in other parts of the world.

Dovestitch is also in the UK and has some interesting colours.

Sparklies have a nice range too, that are different. Quite a few monochromes, some 2-3 tones fabrics. I think they are recently new.

FaeryFireFabrics is new, and has a relatively small range at this stage. She started promoting herself on bulletin boards etc in the past 12 months.

Crossed wing collection has a range of colours but on a limited range of fabrics, and is slightly more pricy.

Heaven lee Creations seems to have gone out of business. As does Dreams with Angels.

At the moment that is all I can think of…

3 Comments

  1. Hev said,

    February 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I know just where you come from. This is also why I try my best to stick to plain colors & not use overdyed fabric. The cost & the chance I won’t get the color again. The fabric for my BOINK alone was $29 & it was a Silkweaver. I about died. But I do agree, it will add something to the finished piece. But if I can get away with a plain piece I will use a plain piece.

  2. Laura Street said,

    March 4, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Hello!

    I happened to bump into your website and am sorry to hear that Enchanted fabrics was going out of business. I loved Silkweaver and was glad to find your comment. I didn’t see a color of the week or any solos on their new website so I hope it’s just a matter of time. I just ordered Sudden Storm for Santa of the Forest before they made their changes. Thank you for listing all of the places to order hand dye fabric. That is very helpful since I didn’t know about some places. I hope they will survive. I love hand-dyed fabric. if you hear of any news concerning these places, please let me know. I hope Silkweaver won’t go out of business. They have quite a selection. Have a great day!

    Laura Street

    • aflyingneedle said,

      March 5, 2010 at 7:01 am

      Hey,

      Thanks for the feedback.

      I don’t think Silkweaver will go out of business, I just worry that they will slow down a lot. I guess we will see.

      I have updated my links to all the websites that I know of that sell hand-dyed fabrics in case you couldn’t find some of them 😀

      Have a great day too,
      J


Leave a Reply

