Still stitching the mermaids

I put about 150-200 stitches in mermaid 2 of metallic floss… its so pretty but I have to remember to cut shorter lengths. The tails now meet 😀 I had a bit of a panic as I thought I had a missing row or extra row on one of the mermaids and then realised I had miscounted. Silly! They line up so its all good.

Order is in for the beads and metallics that were missing for the miras that I posted yesterday.

My list of definite fabrics from Enchanted Fabrics has been decided I think. I was going to join her monthly program for a year, however, as she is closing I can’t do that any more, so I am going to get my 11 or 12 pieces instead. As well as the colour I listed last night my definite colours that I want are:
Abyss (mystique) (midsummer Night’s Dream)
cotton candy (flair) (Mermaid of the pearls)
Dragon’s mist (painted)
Fall folliage (painted)
Hocus Pocus (flair)
Ocean Depths (mystique) (Waiting for ships?)
Spring meadow (painted) (titania maybe?)
Summer glade (painted)

the ones I am tossing up for the other 3 are
Fairy Twilight (painted)
margarita (flair)
Violet Splendor (flair) (shimmering Mermaid)
Amethyst Daze (flair)
Berrylicious (flair)

4 Comments

  1. Dot said,

    January 28, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Good for you! I know I will thoroughly enjoy watching your very pretty stitching grow as you share with us. :o)

    May I ask? Do you stitch in a frame of some sort or in hand? Just curious. I’ve tried everything myself and believe I’ve settled on Q-snaps as my favourite method however these Mira’s make it hard with all the beading. I’ve only ever beaded very small projects so far and the snaps have not got in the way. I started Mira’s Cinderella a while back and am not sure how I will progress with it when it comes to beading.

    • aflyingneedle said,

      January 29, 2010 at 12:07 am

      I have recently starting stitching in hand. I used to use a hoop, and I do have a floor stand for things I don’t want to take with me, but I find stitching in hand suits things that are beaded – especially if I start beading as I go, as I have with the mermaids. I am beading them as I go as there is a large number of beads – I think there is about 9 or so packets of beads and treasures. This was a lesson I learnt from Stargazer as the beading on that took forever (or so it felt).

      For Cinderella I wouldn’t worry too much about beading until the end as she doesn’t have a huge number of beads (she is one of my many WiPs and I believe most of the beading is in the sleeves, bodice of her dress, and the sky from memory), so beading at the end would be easiest.

      I think, reading the bulletin boards about Miras that is what most people do who use q-snaps. Some do bead as they go and then put a laver of padding between the beads and the snaps and find that works for them.

      Stitching in hand for me took a bit of practice not to pull the floss too tight, though, as that is the big danger when the fabric isn’t pulled drum tight, which is, until about 6 months ago, how I stitched.

      Hope this helps 😀

      Oh, and 123stitch is super fast. I assumed that they would wait for everything to be in stock before posting, but I received an email early this morning telling me what is in stock is now in the post 😀

      Does this help?

  2. Dot said,

    January 29, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Absolutely it helps. I’m still not sure what my favourite method is and I’ve tried them all. I do know that I don’t like scroll rods one little bit. I have about 1/2 dozen that I really should just get rid of to someone who does like them. When I started stitching some 25 years ago, I stitched in-hand and loved it. Didn’t stitch much until about 5 years ago and then discovered all the stitchers online. Starting reading about all the different ways people stitch and all the new ‘gadgets’. I’m a gadget fanatic and so I had to try them all. I think I’ll end up either going back to in-hand or using q-snaps. Haven’t quite settled on either yet. Might be a full-circle for me after all. LOL!

    Good to know about 123. I’ve had things in my cart several times over there and not actually purchased yet. I will give them a go next time around.

    Thanks heaps!!

    • aflyingneedle said,

      January 29, 2010 at 1:03 am

      I started stitching about 20 years ago, and had about a 5-6 year break while I was at university and getting established. I got back into it about 2 and a bit years ago, and found that the internet is a wonderful thing… although it makes me realise how poorly supplied Australia is with needlecraft, and how expensive!!! I am glad that the internet has made things more available.

      In the town I lived in before this one, there was a quilting shop and a scrapbooking shop – the regular sewing shop shut down the first year I was there or so. Buying floss was a nightmare – dmc at the quilting store was about $1.40 a skein, which was insane.

      My floor stand has scroll frames, and I don’t mind them. I really need to get into practice with two handed stitching though… and scrolls don’t tend to damage beads if you don’t pull them too tightly so I could bead as I go with them.
      I find the stitchers online are inspiring, although some of them are so fast at stitching that I think they must spend 8-10hours a day stitching (especially the one that finished Mermaid of the Pearls within 3 weeks!!! She stitches beautifully, but way too fast!).

      Most projects (partly because they are big) take me ages to finish. Stargazer took me 14 months, and I have been stitching Sleeping Beauty on and off for the best part of 2 years I believe….And she is only 2/3 done. Cinderella is about 14 months old… My goal this year is to finish Sleeping Beauty. She has been hanging around for too long…

      Amongst all the other projects I have!!!


Leave a Reply

