Okay… its going to cost me $119US with postage and handling to finish kitting up the 6 mirabilia patterns that I want to stitch, which I can’t really complain about because one is Lilly of the Woods, which if I bought all the beads and whatnot in Australia would unfortunately come to $147.50AU without P&H… so the question is, should I just buy everything while the exchange rate is good, or should I get parts… hmmm…..

That means I would have all the beads and metallics ready to go for:
Mermaid of the Pearls


Shimmering Mermaid

Titania

Midsummer’s night Fairy

Waiting for ships

Lilly of the woods

What to do… what to do…

Of course, I am still waiting for Enchanted Fabrics to reopen for last orders too… my list of what I want from there is rather long… I keep trying to cull it, but then it grows again… I am definitely getting a piece of this:

4 Comments

  1. Dot said,

    January 27, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Wow! Big difference eh? I really would like to buy more here in Australia but it’s hard to justify the $$ when there’s SO much difference in cost.
    How disciplined are you with your stitching? If you’re a good girl and you have the $$, I’d say go for it. Six kitted up projects for less than the cost of one? Not too much to think about really. (grin)
    That fabric is absolutely scrumptious!!

    • Dot said,

      January 27, 2010 at 9:43 pm

      Pssst: Where do you prefer to buy from in the US?

      • aflyingneedle said,

        January 28, 2010 at 12:05 am

        I have bought from a few places in the US so far. I was thinking 123stitch.com for this order though. I have heard good things from them.

        I have bought from Froggystitcher.com as well. She is very good and quick.

        I also buy a fair bit on eBay as if things go wrong and you have paid through paypal, you can often get your money back.

        Nordic Needle is supposed to be really good too, although I haven’t tried buying from them and the p&h is slightly more than 123stitc.com. ABCstitchtherapy (i think it is) also comes with good reports.

    • aflyingneedle said,

      January 28, 2010 at 12:10 am

      Justifying the expense in Australia is so difficult. Cross stitch is out of fashion, which doesn’t help matters, but even scrapbooking and stamping costs a heap…(not really something I love, but I have done some classes that didn’t require me to purchase anything)

      I think with how I have managed things, each kit will cost a maximum of about $50-60 including the pattern and fabric. I love Mirabilia’s but in Australia they patterns are usually around the $22-25 mark alone, and then Lilly, who I kept looking at costs a heap to kit because of the specialty beads (which are ridiculous here – $13 for a pack, where in the US they are $3)… Not sure why the price difference.

      I stitch a lot…. may take me a while to finish things, but they do get done eventually!!!

      I love EF fabrics, and it is such a shame she is going out of business 😦


Leave a Reply

